National Flags





The flag of the United States of America, often referred to as the American flag, is the national flag of the United States of America. It consists of thirteen equal horizontal stripes of red (top and bottom) alternating with white, with a blue rectangle in the canton (referred to specifically as the "union") bearing fifty small, white, five-pointed stars arranged in nine offset horizontal rows, where rows of six stars (top and bottom) alternate with rows of five stars. The 50 stars on the flag represent the 50 states of the United States of America, and the 13 stripes represent the thirteen British colonies that declared independence from the Kingdom of Great Britain, and became the first states in the US. Nicknames for the flag include The Stars and Stripes,Old Glory, and The Star-Spangled Banner.








The circle in the middle represents the yin and the yang.  The red is yang, the blue is yin. 

The original meaning of Yin is the cloudy or overcast.  Yang means banners waving in the

sun, or something shown upon, bright. The circle is a symbol for all that exists in a world of opposites, male and female, cloudy and bright, dark and light, yin and yang.The yang provides substance and limitations through which the yin passes.  The results are forms: physical manifestation infused with creative force.  each of the Taeguk forms is based on these forms or trigrams.


The three solid lines in the upper left hand corner represent ch'ien, or Heaven.  The three

divided lines in the lower right hand corner represent k'un, or Earth.  The lower left hand

corner represents li, or Fire.  And the upper right hand corner represents k'an or Water.  

The trigrams and the yin-yang are placed on a white backround which represents purity and

sincerity. The lines on the four corners represent four of the trigrams from the Book of Changes.





The Olympic motto is the hendiatris Citius, Altius, Fortius, which is Latin for "Faster, Higher, Stronger". It was proposed by Pierre de Coubertin upon the creation of the International Olympic Committee in 1894.

Coubertin borrowed it from his friend Henri Didon, a Dominican priest who was an athletics enthusiast.

Coubertin said "These three words represent a programme of moral beauty. The aesthetics of sport are intangible." The motto was introduced in 1924 at the Olympic Games in Paris. A more informal but well-known motto, also introduced by Coubertin, is "The most important thing is not to win but to take part!" Coubertin got this motto from a sermon by the Bishop of Pennsylvania during the 1908 London Games.

The rings are five interlocking rings, colored blue, yellow, black, green and red on a white field, known as the "Olympic rings". The rings represent five world continents, Africa, Asia, America, Europe and Australia. The symbol was originally designed in 1912 by Baron Pierre de Coubertin, co-founder of the modern Olympic Games. According to Coubertin, the colors of the rings together with the white of the background included the colors composing every competing nation's flag at the time.